A Tribute to Emil

The photos that feature our ancestors’ daily lives are too few, it seems to me. I’d love to have photos of Grandfather Emil milking the cows, for example, or Grandmother Gina making cheese. Photos of these events, so ordinary to them, would be treasures to us.

I do recall one tiny snapshot of Emil splitting wood for fence posts, the family home in the right foreground and the Fitch Coulee school in the background. I have often thought, Oh, how I would love a good close-up of that scene – Emil in his work clothes, arms extended with the axe, working up a sweat splitting wood for the farm operation.Grandpa Emil - Fitch Coulee SchoolNow, the other side to these thoughts is that I’ve been puttering with some first attempts at flat plane carving, an old Norwegian folk craft. I have a couple how-to books with illustrations and patterns from the expert himself, Harley Refsal of Decorah, and I’ve been trying to teach myself.

While carving my first few attempts, I discovered Harley’s pattern of “The Wood Chopper” and thought to myself, I should really try that in honor of my grandfather Emil. I loved the pattern; I thought it was perfect to remember him. So here is my fifth carving piece or attempt, a little tribute to our grandfather bearing all the marks of a beginner but still fun to do.

Emil the Woodchopper

Emil the Wood Chopper

Mary gave me a the gift of a three day carving workshop with Harley Refsal this fall, so I’m counting on that to work on my skills. In the meantime, this is a bit of fun – and my small tribute to a hardworking grandfather.

 

This entry was posted in Emil Borreson and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

