Borreson Cousins 1942

Just recently cousin Albert mailed me a copy of a find he had made: an old photo of the Borreson cousins when there were but eight of them. He told me Erlin was the youngest – the baby – in this photo, but he left me to figure out each of the others. I think I have done it, but check this out.

Borreson cousins 1942 summerGina and Emil Borreson with their grandchildren. Left to right: David, Erlin (being held), Albert, Marcia, Gertrude (Ann), Naomi, Conrad, and Richard (seated in front). Please correct me if I’m wrong. I thought Spot seemed like a good name for the dog until Conrad let me know this was his dog named Tiny.

Assuming Erlin’s the baby held by his grandmother, my guess is this was taken the summer of 1942, when Erlin was about six months old (he was born December 1941). Conrad, the oldest cousin, would have been 14 later in the year. Emil and Gina would have done well to have all eight grandchildren together at one time, with Gilbert’s family in Curtiss, Wisconsin, and Clara and Mabel’s families in the Chicago area.

Where was the photo taken? That was Albert’s challenge to me. A reasonable guess is the family farm in Fitch Coulee, but I don’t see any identifying landmarks or buildings to help me out. The gate was probably a yard entrance, but may have been long gone before some of us cousins might have seen it. And, are those flowers or a planted shrub on the left edge of the photo? Perhaps one of Odell’s children can figure out the photo location by the lay of the land in the background. Have fun thinking about this!

Thanks, Albert, for sharing the photo.

This entry was posted in Emil Borreson, Gina Estensen, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Borreson Cousins 1942

  1. Lesley Gillingham says:

    I think this picture was taken on the farm, We are looking to the north, the cattle chute would have been behind the gate. I’m not sure about the flowers. Could it have been taken between the machine shed and the wood shed? The milk house would be on the right. The coulee road crosses the picture, with the Other Place on the left top. That’s my idea! Agree??

  2. Rebecca Cook says:

    My guess would be the farm as well.

  3. Rebecca Cook says:

    Btw, thanks for this wonderful blog. I love reading it and feeling connected to my relatives!

Leave a Reply

