A Scene from the Past

This cool August morning I made a trip to Osseo to find old newspaper stories about ski jumping in the area. The woman at the Tri-County News office was helpful, and I made some progress in filling a gap in my knowledge (of course, there are many such gaps, a subject not to be here explored).

On the way home, however, I took this photo which brings back thoughts on another era.

Pigeon Falls tobacco shedJust a mile or so north of Pigeon Falls on the west side of Highway 53, this old tobacco shed gamely stands erect despite the ravages of time and inattention of farmers. Once it was filled from floor to ceiling with tobacco-strung-from-lathes, smelling only as damp tobacco can smell, curing until the next step on the way to becoming cigar wrappers. It reminds me of a very old but poor stately lady, dressed in her tattered best, determined to meet her end with dignity.

Four generations of Borresons were in the tobacco-raising business, although I suppose that’s more a bare fact than bragging rights anymore. Four generations raised tobacco to buy a car, pay a mortgage, send a kid to college, or just try to get ahead. This scene brought back these thoughts.

P.S. Cousin Carol told me that they used this tobacco shed at one time. Cool!

This entry was posted in Farming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Scene from the Past

  1. Rita Borreson says:

    Hi cuz! This is Rita, I love your blog of history of Grandma and Grandpa Borreson, sons and daughters. Very interesting and love looking at old pictures of yester year. I do remember doing the planting and harvesting of the tobacco with dad. Had to be raised on the farm to enjoy the muddy fingers after planting. Always had fun and enjoyment working on the farm. I feel very lucky to be raised on the farm, I love that life!! It was a upbringing as to hard work at a very young age, and a will to learn. I remembered milking cows at age 8,when Mom and Dad were trying to finish up the hay field. I learned by watching mom and dad do the milking. But anyway , I love the stories and history of the borresons. Good job!!

  2. Rebecca Cook says:

    I remember being in the fields with Aunt Nan as she would pick the tobacco worms of the plants. “Ewww,” I thought!

Leave a Reply

