Our Ancestors’ Stop in Londonderry

Our ancestors Elias and Kari Borreson made a ship change in Ireland on their way to America. They had boarded the Scandinavia from Norway and then, stopping in Londonderry, switched to the Britainia for the ocean voyage to New York and America.

I figure here’s my lame claim to being Irish on St. Patrick’s Day: my ancestors breathed Irish air in Derry (as it’s called today) on their way to America!

So when our son Erik and his bride Monica took their wedding trip to Ireland recently, I asked him for just one thing: a photo of the harbor in Derry. I confess I’m a bit envious of his being able to walk where his three-greats-grandparents may have been walked 145 years ago, but happy for him too.

Happily for me, he sent me at photo he took the very day they were there this month, and told me they were spending the night in Derry as well. So I share the photo with you, too, with my wishes that you enjoy the family connection as well.

Derry Ireland2I said that our ancestors’ stop here in Derry was the most Irish I could claim. On the other hand, several towns in Ireland were founded by the Vikings (among them, Dublin, Cork, Waterford, Wexford, and Limerick) when they decided to stay rather than just raid and run. Our own DNA and that of today’s Irish would reveal ancestors in common.

This entry was posted in Immigration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Ancestors’ Stop in Londonderry

  1. shirley cook says:

    Oooooh Glen, the Viking were all over the world, you are so many nationalities as well as Norwegian but main heritage as Norwegian) and whatever your Mother was – German, Polish, Russian. Which were the worse, the Vikings or the English who also conquer much of the world way back when. Me too, I call myself a bitsy, a little bit of this and a little bit of that

    Shirley

    • Bottom line is, I think, that we are all related, all one family. Thinking of the larger world scene, it’s too bad we can’t be a happier family. Thanks for reading, Shirley. – Glenn

Leave a Reply

