Merry Christmas 2013

Merry Christmas, cousins and all who read these increasingly rare posts I make on this blog. Enjoy this coat-of-arms from Tynset, the municipality from which some of our ancestors came.

Tynset coat of arms

I thought this particular coat-of-arms would make an appropriate Christmas greeting since, as I recalled, it featured a reindeer. So much for that: when I went to look at it again, I was reminded it was a moose! Not exactly a candidate for a part in “Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer.” Nevertheless, it’s the best I can do at the moment.

Tynset_spark1

As I reviewed the description of Tynset, a northernmost municipality in the landlocked county Hedmark, I definitely thought it sounded like a Borreson kind of place: a snowy realm for skiing, hunting and fishing. It’s also the home to a company that makes “kicker” sleds – and a giant sled’s pictured here. Maybe it also has a moose that wants to be one of Santa’s reindeer.

This entry was posted in Holidays, Norway, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

