Emil’s Farm Auction

My dad Garven told me that he had been administrator for his father Emil’s estate, but I didn’t know much more about that until I located this auction notice from the Winona Republican-Herald dated November 8, 1951. I enlarged the copy for our reading.

Emil had died January 8, 1949. This auction takes place nearly three years later, November 10, 1951. The auction bill confirms that my father was administrator for the estate, but I never asked him how he ended up with that responsibility. (I think I had a sense he wasn’t entirely happy to have the job, but I don’t recall him saying that.)

Sid had said that Emil had switched from mixed breed cattle to Holsteins after my father had worked for Ofsdahls in the mid-thirties and had been impressed by their purebred herd. The auction bill indicates all the cattle (though there weren’t really very many) were Holsteins – and being “T.B. and Bang’s clean” was a big deal.

Duroc hogs and White Rock and White Leghorn hens were common breeds. The clover seed plus the clover and alfalfa hay would indicate that farm had made a move to legumes (and likely away from timothy and brome hay). That would have fit Emil’s progressive style – or perhaps his young farmer-sons had pushed for the change.

The machinery section is filled with familiar brands: McCormick, Deering, Gehl, John Deere. Sid was correct, too, about Emil having a Howell silo filler.

Since the farm also was listed for sale – “bids…must be acceptable to all the heirs” – I am guessing that this is when Odell purchased the place. Clara wrote that he and Nan were living on and farming the place in 1948 (Homestead, 38). Prior to seeing this auction notice, I would have guessed this purchase had been earlier. The reference to “all the heirs” make me think that Emil’s children were involved as well as his wife Gina. I wish my father were around so I could ask him my questions.

Ah, yes, we mustn’t miss that S. L. Lutheran Ladies Aid served lunch. Without that, the day would not have been complete.

This entry was posted in Emil Borreson, Farming, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emil’s Farm Auction

  1. judy says:

    I was present at this auction, so I will add to it. It was decided that if a Borreson bought the farm, it should be sold for $10,000.00. Bennie was farming it at the time and he bid for the farm. Garven tried at least three times to cash his check, but it was never good, so after a year it was sold to Odell and Nan. Odell and Nan had bought the Sigwald Stalheim farm in Big Slough. Sid and I helped move them there. After the year, Odell bought the Fitch Coulee farm and we helped move them back to Fitch Coulee. Odell sold his farm to Oliver Johnson. Oliver farmed and lived with Kenneth Johnson and planned to be married to Helen, so he got a place near by. Nan and I were very pregnant at the time and I still remember Sam Olson’s comment as he was the trucker moving them. Sid was driving the horses and wagon to Fitch Coulee and when they got near the farm they run full speed. The dog jumped up on the wagon when they rested, but run along side otherwise. Horses were HOME. Sid never forgot this. Often commented about this. Irene

  2. Daniel Borreson says:

    This is from Dan Borreson. I did get a copy of the Deed recorded in January, 1955 that transferred the farm to O’dell. The Deed states the consideration given was $9,800. The later date may suggest the estate temporarily financed the sale.

Leave a Reply

