Good Norwegian Coffee

Drinking coffee. I got to thinking about that after mention of dandelion wine, sugar cookies, and sandbakkels following my post about Grandmother Gina. I noticed in Clara’s Homestead (page 6) that Gina’s mother, Maria Thorsen Estensen, is credited with supervising the coffee making for the young people’s meetings at the Evangelical Lutheran Church (lower) in Pigeon Falls. Her coffee was probably much like the “Norwegian Egg Coffee” recipe posted in the current Viking magazine published by Sons of Norway (February 2011, page 11). Here’s the recipe, in case you’re interested in trying a family-size pot (in contrast to Maria’s church-size!):

  • Ingredients: 10 cups boiling water, 1 cup plus 1/4 cup cold water, 1/2 cup coffee grounds, 1 egg.
  • Directions: In a kettle, bring 10 cups of water to a boil on the stovetop. Combine coffee grounds, egg and 1/4 cup cold water in a bowl. Add egg/coffee mixture to the boiled water. Boil 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat and add 1 cup of cold water. (This will settle the coffee grounds to the bottom of the kettle.) Serve hot.

This blue enamel model reminds me of old coffee pots I used to see as a youngster. So, what’s your experience with coffee-drinking growing up in the Borreson family? My parents Garven and Cora drank it regularly as we kids were growing up, but I don’t recall that we were offered any – well, maybe as a joke with the expectation we’d refuse it or taste it and turn up our nose! When coming home from college – and years later, I remember my parents keeping an aluminum pot of coffee on the stove thoughout the day, warming it up again (and again) whenever another cup was desired. When we asked Dad if he wanted a cup, we’d hear his favorite line, “Just a squirt” (or “skvet”), and we’d pour him a full cup, of course. Always black. For myself, the setting of our family reunion this summer was the place where I became a coffee drinker: Luther College. Oh, the things we learn in school!

So, what about you? What was your coffee-drinking experience growing up in the Borreson family? Do you have any memories of coffee from your own home or family events? When did you become a coffee drinker -or didn’t you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Norwegian Coffee

  1. Elaine says:

    Our mother and dad always drank coffee in the morning, but never Norwegian coffee. I believe they had coffee after supper as well. Mother always had a percalator and when I was older I enjoyed her coffee as it always had a lot of flavor. Today Dean and I both crave fresh roasted, fresh ground coffee in the morning and I must confess I like mine with milk and heavy cream!
    There will be Norwegian coffee in the morning at the Luther cafeteria and a hearty breakfast. They often highlight fresh grown, local foods as well. It should be very good and healthy.

  2. Glenn says:

    I wonder if any of our families actually drank Norwegian egg coffee at home; my experience was that this coffee was prepared for church and other big social gatherings. And cream in coffee? My parents didn’t use it but I have an impression that their parents often did – at least I know Mom’s did (not the Borreson side, of course). Years ago I don’t what inspired cream’s use or non-use.

Leave a Reply

