Emil – Another Cousin’s View

This post on the Borreson Cousins grandfather Emil is part two of our cousin David’s recollections of our grandparents, a section of a longer letter I received which he gave me permission to share with you. After writing of Gina, he goes on:

“Now Emil was very quiet. When I was a child – I suppose a 4th or 5th grader – he would invite me to come to the bedroom that was off the kitchen and there he would give me peppermint candy. At meals he always sat in a chair at the end of the long table. We all sat on benches. Mealtime was always a happy time for story telling.

I would help Emil in the barn but he never said much. From the mow, we would throw down hay for the milk cows. He also would give me instructions about harvesting the tobacco, an interesting time.” [Glenn’s note: Here’s a barn photo from when it was being re-painted, maybe in the thirties. Two painters are standing where the forks of hay went into the mow. David’s recollections on Gina included driving the horses to pull the hay up there.]

Dave concludes his letter, “We vacationed alot there on the farm  along with the Cooks and the Okerwalls. So we all got very well acquainted! I have many, many stories about our times together.”

This was wonderful to include, Dave. I welcome more of those stories too! One of my observations is that older cousins and younger cousins in a large family often had different experiences – just the nature of things – and I believe Dave’s memories are evidence of that. We’re all the richer for his sharing.

This entry was posted in Emil Borreson, Farming, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emil – Another Cousin’s View

  1. Get a load of that homemade ladder up to the hay loft.

  2. Glenn says:

    Yes, that is a piece of work – 19 or 20 steps worth! I’m sure it was a familiar story: make whatever you didn’t have. I’m just glad I wasn’t doing the climbing.

Leave a Reply

